Foodgasms

quinoa and kefir

20160326_174456

Two necessities led to this recipe: (1)  my family is having Easter dinner tomorrow and despite the fact that my brother has been a vegetarian for about 15 years, my mother can’t figure out what to cook and needs my help; and (2) my kefir supply has grown too large and needed paring down.

So I made some of my favorite kefir-based dressing for a springtime quinoa salad, and the results are crunchy, tangy, and filling but not oppressive.

20160326_163123

First I cooked carrots, celery, spring onions and green beans until soft with some olive oil, garlic, saffron, salt, and pepper. Then I added water and about a cup and a half of quinoa and simmered until ready.

20160326_165636

I fluffed the mixture and let it cool a bit, chopped up several cups of spinach, and combined the spinach, quinoa and veggie mixture with a couple of tablespoons of capers. Why capers? Because lemony flavors are big here. The dressing includes both lemon and sumac, so I wanted a bit of briny  citrus to go along with it.

Lastly, I made the dressing from a couple tablespoons sumac, a teaspoon paprika, a quarter cup of olive oil and another quarter cup of kefir, and the juice of one lemon. Whisk, mix into the salad, and enjoy.

20160326_165442

The dressing goes well with many recipes. Here, it really livens up what is otherwise a simple dish. And now the lot chills overnight, undoubtedly soaking in the flavors. Good for a vegetarian main dish and an omnivore side dish!

One thought on “quinoa and kefir

Leave a Reply

